top of page
  • Ada Mahood

I Resolve

2022. Another year gone by. Another full rotation around the sun. With the new year there always comes those people who want to change and make resolutions, usually followed by said resolutions being forgotten in a month's time.

This year I rang in the new year playing bingo and watching Jurassic Park with my brother, definitely different from the normal parties that we attend.

While watching the classic film Jurassic Park, I decided I'm becoming a cliché and actually making a resolution this year. This year I've decided I want to read 100 books and be better at being confident in myself. However, I'm a pretty big book nerd, so I think that's easily attainable. The confidence part might need some working on.

A few weeks into 2022 and nothing feels different, no special change in the year, no annoying virus gone like magic. Everything is just as it was last year, if not worse.

I am going to play around with this idea of change, so bear with me for a second.

I believe that people choose to make New Year's resolutions because the idea of the new year creates a blank slate for people who want a second chance at something. The rest of the year isn't as important so someone might not have the motivation to make a goal, but the start of the year is something special. I think that's because there are no excuses.

If you are going to make a goal, you might as well wait until New Year’s Eve to do it. Now this is not to say that New Year's resolutions aren't helpful. I just think that if you don't have the motivation to make a goal during the rest of the year, then why wait until New Year’s?

Now that you've read my rambling about change, I want you to think of some kind of goal; it could be as simple as eating more fruits and veggies every week or it could be as intricate as traveling to another country which may not be possible right now. Think of something that is attainable that you can realistically finish in a year.

I want you to find the nearest piece of paper and write that goal down. Don't put it in your phone because that's a dark hole and goals will get lost. Okay. Have you written it down yet? Good. Now, find a tack or a piece of tape or blue tack anything that you can hang something up with. Now find a nice spot on your wall, somewhere that you can see. Boom! New Year’s Resolution wall art. Now you can clearly see exactly what you want to accomplish. There's no excuses this time.

2021 was anything but easy, but with that I will say that I enjoyed 2021 more than I have enjoyed any other year. I have so many fun memories associated with 2021 that I'm sure I will cherish forever. I just hope that 2022 brings so much more joy and fun memories.

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page