top of page
  • Buzz Staff

Stuck at Home

I remember going to school and living my normal life thinking nothing bad would happen, but I guess I was wrong. Everyone wanted to start the new decade well but all we got was the pandemic. COVID-19 (or better known as the Coronavirus) has affected so many people's lives by forcing people to stay home for safety but everyone has been trying to work together to keep their heads held high.

At the beginning of the pandemic, The Garlic and The Foundry in Killington teamed up with the Elementary school to give out food to the families who had kids going to the school. I also believe for people working with Killington, they got food as well to help out with this hard time. I remember my mom coming home one day with bags of foods that came from where she worked which was Killington Sports. Even with the amount of food we got, we gave some away to a family friend to help out their family as well.

For the students, all learning has been moved to online and for a lot of students, the transition was hard from losing the motivation to do work like in a normal school environment. For me, it feels like going back to homeschooling. I was homeschooled in fifth grade and I did online learning for that as well and from what I could remember, it was a lot of reading with no help.

As for the learning now, students get Zoom meetings with teachers which I find to be very helpful with understanding work. We also get to see more people that aren't our families.

Going shopping now is a very scary thing for people seem to become more vicious when buying: cleaning products, medicine, paper towels, toilet paper and frozen food. I shop in Rutland and from what I have seen and heard, everything has become a ghost town. Even going in a store has become the worst thing possible and I don’t even know how that happened. So I just try to stay home.

As for passing the time, my mom has been pulling out old board games we have never played and it turns out they are a lot of fun. I didn’t even know what Hoopla was until she pulled it out! We have also been watching a lot of old movies, which are always good to see again and it’s nice to have some family time.

People are just trying to get by by just trying to find the positives in life which is what I am doing too and it looks like to be the best thing we have.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page